Forgot your password?

Destination of the month: The Galapagos Islands

Ecuador is a small country located at Latitude Zero in the "Middle of the World". It is crossed by the Equatorial Line. Although its size, it has four main regions: the coast, the highlands, the amazon region and the Galapagos Islands. 

The Galapagos Islands:

These enchanted islands are located in the Pacific Ocean, nearly 1,000 km from the mainland. There are fourteen main islands and twenty small islands. The Archipelago of Galapagos was declared Natural Patrimony of the Humanity in 1978 and it has a unique flora and fauna. The islands are famous for their biological richness, and for being one of the places where Charles Darwin developed his theory of evolution. 

These isolated group of volcanic islands that arent typical tropical paradises are famed for their vast number of endemic species and its fragile ecosystem. 

Galapagos is a terrific place to visit anytime of the year, because of its location on the Equator, the air and water temperatures remain relatively stable all year long. Rainfalls are common for a short period of time each day; you can observe birds mating or sea turtles nesting on the beaches, albatross and penguins are easier to encounter and blue-footed boobies. 

(blue-footed boobies)

Galapagos is a world-class destination for scuba divers because of the abundance of sharks, sea lions, fur seals, marine turtles, rays, mantas, marine iguanas and reef fish. 

Most important Islands to visit:

  • Isla Isabela
  • Isla San Cristóbal
  • Isla Española
  • Isla Santa Cruz
  • Puerto Ayora
  • Parque Nacional Galapagos
  • Isla Pinta

Written by LARM Ecuador

Bureau Veritas, ISO Certificate No. US011293
© Copyright 2010-2020 LARM | Design by DITTCO

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible experience on our website. By continuing to use our site, you acknowledge that you accept the use of cookies. You can find out more information here. ×